Best Photography Book of the Year Award. Selected books 2019

PHotoESPAÑA recognizes each year the best photography books in distinct categories to celebrate a format that makes it possible to hold images of stories, collections, documents, and projects. With these awards, a committee of experts honors the efforts that the publishing industry makes every year to promote photography, and awards the talent, originality, and design of the photobooks.


The Best Photography Book of the Year Award recognizes editorial works presented in the following categories:

Best National Photography Book of the Year
Best International Photography Book of the Year
Best Self-Published Photography Book
Outstanding Publisher of the Year


The call for artists for the 22th edition of the Festival was closed on April 1, 2019. Artists and publishers of all nationalities were able to present their books published between March 1, 2018, and March 1, 2019.


During the month of April, 2019, a pre-selection committee formed by professionals in the publishing sector selected the finalists that will be exhibited, as of June 6th, at the National Library of Spain in Madrid.





List of authors:

Mar Sáez David Hornillos Toni Amengual
Karolina Puchała-Rojek Francisco Llop Valero The Kids Are Right (Borja Larrondo & Diego Sánchez)
Titus Simoens Sebastian Bruno Nadia del Pozo
Antoinette Nausikaä Alessia Rollo Antonio Pérez Rio
Paul kooiker Joel meyerowitz Lilia Luganskaia
Igor pisuk Vari Caramés Anaïs López
Horáková + Maurer Shirin Neshat Michal siarek
Karina Nimmerfall, Ben Highmore Gloria Oyarzabal Hristina tasheva
Julie Glassberg Raúl Cancio and Marisa Flórez Luca aimi
Olga Kravets, Maria Morina & Oksana Yushko Juan Valbuena Roberto Aguirrezabala
Martin Toft Rafael Trapiello Paula Arts
Andressa Ce Bea luengo Eduardo Queiroga
Rudolf strobl Janire Najera David jimenez
Lukas Birk, Natasha Christia Ignacio Acosta Carlos Loret de Mola
Rafal Milach Albarrán Cabrera (Angel Albarrán & Anna Cabrera)
Paul reas Yvonne venegas
Mads Nissen Cristina de Middel, Kalev Erickson
Manuel Alvarez Bravo Marlene freniche
Ana Casas BrodaAntoine d'Agata Alfonso Almendros
Alfredo Blásquez Aliaga, Juan Vicente - Kaneko, Ryuichi - Kojima, Hiromi - Martín, Carlos
Alessandro bo Terré
Paola Bragado Jordi Partners
Beat schweizer
Armin Linke and Peter Hanappe
Elvira leite
Jean-Marc Caimi, Valentina Piccinni
Victor and Sergey Kochetov
Daniel blaufuks
Jose Pedro Cortes
André Principe
Batia Suter
Tiane Doan na Champassak
Mazaccio & Drowilal
Douglas mandry
Erik Kessels
Piergiorgio Casotti, Emanuele Brutti
August sander
John gossage
Bolesław Augustis
Martino marangoni
Peter dekens
Jos jansen
Simon Brugner
Yorgos Yatromanolakis


(* The books selected for the exhibition at the National Library will not be returned. The books that are not selected can be picked up at the PHotoESPAÑA offices, beginning from the time in which the finalists are announced until June 27, 2019. After that time, the publications will be sent to libraries and cultural centers to form part of their collections.)


Share this information

Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on email

In other news